Previous blogs

NHS Sigh Test Eligibility

One of the things we are often asked at the practice is about the criteria and eligibility for patient entitlement for a sight test funded by the National Health Service. Here is a breakdown of who is eligible for an NHS sight test:

  • People under the age of 16 or over the age of 60. You also qualify for an NHS sight test if you are a full-time student aged 16, 17, or 18
  • Those registered as partially sighted or blind
  • Those diagnosed with diabetes or glaucoma
  • Those over the age of 40 with a direct relative who suffers/suffered from glaucoma (mother, father, sister, brother, son or daughter)
  • Those who have been advised by an ophthalmologist that they are at risk of glaucoma
  • Prisoners on leave from prison
  • Those eligible for a complex NHS voucher due to their prescription. Ask your optician for further details.

You may also qualify for an NHS sight test on an income-related basis. Those who are in receipt of the following also qualify for an NHS sight test:

  • Income Support
  • Income-based Job Seekers’ Allowance (NOT contribution-based)
  • Pension Credit Guarantee Credit
  • Income-based Employment and Support Allowance (NOT contribution-based)
  • A valid tax NHS credit exemption certificate (must be named on certificate)
  • HC2 or HC3 certificate with a low income (must be named on certificate)

Please be aware that patients who do not qualify for an NHS sight test will be asked to pay the examination fee.

Posted 5th September 2013 by admin